Discovery House logo

 

News
Discovery House "News" icon

 

DISCOVERY HOUSE

OPEN

Discovery House is open today, Thursday, January 16, as of 8:30 am.  Welcome back after the Snow Day yesterday.

BC government's child care fee reduction program: how it works

 

Last year, the provincial government's Ministry of Children and Family Development began a program to provide funding to child care providers in B.C. The funding is specifically intended to reduce fees paid by families of children attending licensed group and family care centres.

 

Discovery House has contracted with the provincial government for more than 15 years to participate in its Child Care Operating Funding Program (CCOF).  This was meant to cover a part of operating costs, allowing centres to increase the salaries of staff and hold down the increases in parents' fees.  This program is remaining the same as in the past.

 

The fee reduction initiative is administered as part of the CCOF, but it is different in that 100% of the funding is required to be passed on to parents. Discovery House began the fee reductions in April 2018.

 

Here is how it works.  For Discovery House, the fee reduction is $100 per month for children aged three years to Kindergarten age for full-time enrollment (more than four hours per day).  So, for example, when parents of a child enrolled for five days a week receive their monthly invoice, it will show a fee reduction of $100.  For families that are receiving subsidies, the reduction of course can only be applied to the parent portion of their fees.  There is a formula to determine how it works.

 

 

 JANUARY Tuesday, January 2 NEW TERM BEGINS Welcome new children Thursday, January 25 HAWAII DAY Children may wear summer clothes over their winter clothes FEBRUARY Thursday, February 8 DISCOVERY HOUSE OLYMPICS AND ICE SCULPTURE *Watch for information Monday, February 12 BC FAMILY DAY Discovery House closed--Statutory holiday Wednesday, February 14 VALENTINE'S DAY CELEBRATION Children may hand out cards PLEASE NO SWEET TREATS THE FUN--Games, singing, dancing, etc. are the treats Friday, February 16 CHINESE NEW YEAR CELEBRATIONS MARCH Friday, March 16 ST. PATRICK'S DAY - BIG CIRCLE Tuesday, March 20 SPRING EQUINOX Big Circle and outside activities March 19-29 SCHOOL DISTRICT SPRING BREAK Discovery House is open. Please notify us if your child will be absent for Spring Break Days. J Thanks Thursday, March 29 EASTER EGG HUNT AND BIG CIRCLE Friday, March 30 GOOD FRIDAY Discovery House closed--Statutory holiday APRIL Monday, April 2 EASTER MONDAY Discovery House closed--Statutory holiday Friday, April 13 "EARTH DAY" Everyone - playground clean up and planting Monday, April 23 CANADIAN BOOK DAY Discovery House story with guest teller and activities outside MAY Friday, May 4 CINCO DE MAYO - BIG CIRCLE Friday, May 11 MOTHER'S DAY Garden Party 2:00-3:00 pm Tree House children only Monday, May 21 VICTORIA DAY Discovery House closed--Statutory holiday Friday, May 25 SPRING CONCERT REHEARSAL 10:00 am at St. Elizabeth's Church Monday, May 28 DISCOVERY HOUSE SPRING CONCERT All children participate at St. Elizabeth's Church Third Street Doors open at 5 pm, concert begins at 6 pm ends at 7 pm JUNE Tuesday, June 5 TEDDY BEAR PICNIC Friday, June 15 FATHER'S DAY Daddy and Grandpa invitational sports tournament "FUN DAY" 2:00-3:00 pm - Tree House children only Friday, June 22 TREE HOUSE GRADUATION 11:00 am to Noon Wednesday, June 27 COUNTRY FAIR Friday, June 29 LAST DAY OF TERM Discovery House "School Year" ends JULY Monday, July 2 CANADA DAY Discovery House closed--Statutory holiday Tuesday, July 3 CAMP DISCOVERY BEGINS Be sure you return your summer camp registration form by the deadline date

MARK YOUR CALENDAR

 

JANUARY

 

Wednesday, January 2          DISCOVERY HOUSE RE-OPENS  7:45 am

                                                               “Happy New Year 2019”

 

 

FEBRUARY

 

Tuesday, February 5               CHINESE NEW YEAR CELEBRATION

                                                            Including a guest performer

 

Thursday, February 14           VALENTINE’S DAY BIG CIRCLE

                                                           (Wear red or pink if you wish)

 

Monday, February 18             FAMILY DAY: DISCOVERY HOUSE CLOSED

 

 

MARCH

 

Friday, March 15                     CELEBRATION OF ST. PATRICK'S DAY

 

Wednesday, March 20            SPRING BEGINS--WELCOME

                                                           LOTS OF SPECIAL OUTDOOR SPRING ACTIVITIES

                                                           (Wear your outdoor gear to have fun)

 

 

APRIL

 

Thursday, April 18                  EASTER EGG HUNT

 

Friday, April 19                        GOOD FRIDAY: DISCOVERY HOUSE CLOSED

 

Monday, April 21                     EASTER MONDAY: DISCOVERY HOUSE CLOSED

 

 

MAY

 

TBD                                          DISCOVERY HOUSE SPRING CONCERT

                                                           All children participate at St. Elizabeth's Church Third Street

                                                           Doors open at 5 pm, concert begins at 6 pm ends at 7 pm

 

Monday, May 6                        CINCO DE MAYO (MEXICO) - BIG CIRCLE

 

Monday, May 13                      MOTHER'S DAY TEA PARTY

                                                                  2:00-3:00 pm

 

Monday, May 20                      VICTORIA DAY: DISCOVERY HOUSE CLOSED

 

 

JUNE

 

Tuesday, June 4                      BICYCLE RODEO

                                                               (Bring trike and helmet)

 

Friday, June 14                       FATHER'S DAY PLAY DATE

                                                           2:00-3:00 pm

 

Friday, June 21                       COUNTRY FAIR: WELCOME SUMMER

                                                           Wear your farm clothes

 

 

JULY

 

Monday, July 1                        CANADA DAY: DISCOVERY HOUSE CLOSED

 

Tuesday, July 2                       JULY CAMP PROGRAM BEGINS

 

    Friday, July 26                        LAST DAY OF TERM

Discovery House closed in August

 

 

SEPTEMBER

 

Monday, September 11         FAMILY POTLUCK SUPPER  5:00-6:00 pm

                                                                  Bring a dish to share, picnic utensils, blanket or chair

                                                                  Discovery House will provide water and cups

 

Friday, September 22            BIG CIRCLE: "FRIENDSHIP" 10:00 am

                                                                  Whole school singing and dancing

 

 

OCTOBER

 

Friday, October 6                  FALL FAIR FUN DAY

 

Monday, October 9                THANKSGIVING DAY

                                                              Discovery House closed--Statutory holiday

 

Tuesday, October 31             DISCOVERY HOUSE HALLOWEEN PARTY

                                                              Children may bring their costume in a bag (name on it)

                                                              PLEASE DO NOT SEND ANY HALLOWEEN CANDY

                                                              OR SWEET TREATS

 

Throughout Oct & Nov          AUTUMN DISCOVERY WALKS--ALL GROUPS

                                                              Please ensure that your child is dressed to enjoy

                                                              outdoor play daily, ie: hat, mitts, splash pants,

                                                              warm coat, boots

 

 

NOVEMBER

 

Thursday, November 9         BIG CIRCLE

 

Monday, November 13          REMEMBRANCE DAY

                                                              Discovery House closed--Statutory holiday

 

Friday, November 24             PAJAMA DAY

                                                              Wear your favorite PJs to Discovery House

 

 

DECEMBER

 

Monday, December 4            DISCOVERY HOUSE CHRISTMAS CONCERT 6:00 pm sharp

                                                              St. Elizabeth's Church, doors open at 5:30 pm

                                                              The story of the first Christmas will be told/acted

                                                              by the seniors (4 year olds)

                                                              All groups will sing

                                                              If you do not wish your child to participate, please

                                                              inform Stephanie Schroeder

 

Sometime in December        A SURPRISE FOR THE CHILDREN

                                                              Sshh!! Santa may visit Discovery House one morning

                                                              Watch for the date

 

Throughout December          We will be teaching the children the customs around the world

                                                of Christmas, Hanukkah and Kwanza.

                                                              If you have national traditions to share, we'd be delighted.

                                                              Call 250-655-3345 or see Stephanie.

 

Thursday, December 21       DISCOVERY HOUSE CLOSES FOR CHRISTMAS BREAK

 

Monday, December 25          CHRISTMAS DAY

                                                              Statutory holiday

 

 

JANUARY 2018

 

Monday, January 1                NEW YEAR'S DAY

                                                                  Statutory holiday

 

   Tuesday, January 2                DISCOVERY HOUSE REOPENS

 

                                                    MAY YOUR CELEBRATIONS BRING YOU TRUE PEACE

                                                    AND DEEP HAPPINESS